Isang Tula Mula Sa Manliligaw | A Poem From a Lover

Jafiyah
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

Photo by AROMATEEC on Unsplash

Isang Tula Mula Sa Manliligaw, which translates to A Poem From a Lover, is a piece I wrote inspired by the intimate and romantic nature of Filipino courting. During the Spanish colonial era, Harana or Serenade rose to popularity. It is a practice in which a young man (the manliligaw or suitor) will visit the house of the binibini (young lady) and sing by her window until she comes out to either accept or reject his advances. Ever since I’ve learned about the grandiose gesture Filipinos do in courtship, I’ve wondered about the young men who didn’t have to ability to court their binibini through song.

This poem is how I like to imagine the writers of that era would have wooed their significant others; through a humble letter of poetry.

Isang Tula Mula Sa Manliligaw

Oh binibini,
ako’y nabibighani.
Sa kapit ng iyong’ mga kamay
sa aking’ baiwang, tayo ay sumaway
sa utos ni mama at bilin ni papa.

At sa ganoon, kukunin natin
ang ating’ mga paa
sila ay dalhin natin sa tugtuging
magiliw na musika.
I-aangat ang mukha,
pupunasan ang mga luha,
at isasabay sa hangin ang katawan
tila nasa ilalim ng mahika.

Oh binibini,
tayo ay sumayaw.
Huwag na problemahin
ang sabi nila;
mahal kita.

Ako’y patuloy na nabibighani
sa hiwaga mong’ bumabalot sa’akin.
Ang hawak mo ang sumasagip
sa bawat dapa ng aking’ mga tuhod.

Oh binibini,
maari ba kitang i-sayaw?

English Translation

Oh miss,
I am enchanted.
By the grasps of your hands
on my waist, let us disobey
our mothers’ demands
and our fathers’ advice.

And so, let us take our feet.
Let us bring them to the beat
of tender music.
Lift up your head,
dry your tears,
and sway your body along the wind;
as though wrapped under magic.

Oh miss,
together, let us dance.
Never mind the rumors.
I love you.

I am forever enchanted
by the wonder you’ve
wrapped around my skin.
Your touch rescues
every fall of my knees.

Oh miss,
may I have this dance?

2024, Jafiyah, Filipino writer

--

--

Jafiyah
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

Writer. Poet. I mostly write about the mundane, spontaneous, and poetic experiences of life.