Lead Me Again

Care for a dance?

Sangeeta R Mathew
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readFeb 26, 2024

--

Image edited by the author in Canva

‘The lights dimly lit our stage.
As I stood facing you once again,
“I am no good at this,” I said.
You smiled as you took my hand.

I hold my breath as the music starts.
All the steps, muddled in my head.
The rest are already swaying.
Gliding around us gracefully.

“Keep your eyes on me,” you whispered.
“I will take the lead on this one.”
Little do you know, it scares me the most.

I have never been one to follow.
Always been in charge, a leader.
Effortlessly led a million and one.
But I have never been one to let go.

“I don’t know how to let someone lead.”
I murmur as you manoeuvre me.
You only grin and twirl me, pulling me close:
“All I need is a little bit of trust; let me show you.”

I try to turn off my incessant thoughts.
Maybe just this once, I will let go of the reins.
I think as I ease the bundle of nerves within.

I listen to the music and let it flow through me.
I get out of my head as I dance with you.
We move seamlessly, drawing our own patterns.
Every step you designed, I came through.

I smile as I sense the song coming to a close.
I look at you as this feeling wears off.
“Thank you for the dance,” I say.
“Thank you for the faith,” you respond.

As we part ways on the dance floor
I turn around for a second glance, thinking
Maybe I will let you lead me again.

Notes: This poem talks about the struggle to let go and trust others to take charge. This is something a lot of people struggle with due to a multitude of issues. But as time progresses, we learn that certain things can be enjoyed more with a little trust and a lot of dance.

Sangeeta is an Indian author who enjoys writing about the smaller details as well as the bigger picture.

--

--

Sangeeta R Mathew
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I am a simple human being trying to navigate life by writing. I love to write about topics that excite me. I prefer not to limit my musings to a label.