Missing You

A poetic portrayal

Audrey Vivian
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readOct 22, 2023

--

Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

Am missing you

I miss your voice
I miss your calls, and I miss your warmth
I miss those tender and sweet lips of yours
I miss those times you would cuddle and make me feel like a baby

If a raindrop would mean I miss you and you ask me how much I miss you, then I bet it would rain all day
Because roses of red are growing in my heart
They bloom and grow every day I see your smile, hear your voice or just think of you

If I had a rose for every time I think of you, then I would walk all day
Missing you is precious, but having you around is more precious

If I could have just one wish, then I would wish to wake up every day to the sound of your breath on my chest and neck
The warmth of your lips on my cheek
The touch of your fingers on my skin
And the feel of your heart with mine, knowing that I could never find this feeling with anyone other than you

I feel good missing you
I feel better having you around
But then I will feel best when you become completely mine alone

@Audrey Vivian

African American writer

Editor’s note:

The author has not supplied extra context for this poem, but it speaks to me of the paradoxical pleasure of missing someone. We can’t miss someone or something that is not precious to us. Even when our loved ones are not around, that feeling we get when we become aware of their absence is pleasant and unpleasant — pleasant because we are reminded of how good they make us feel, and unpleasant because we yearn for their return.

It is an excellent portrayal of what it is to miss someone. Thanks for your poem, Audrey.

--

--

Audrey Vivian
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

A poet, LinkedIn writer, public speaker and a content creator. Support, join and enjoy my writing @LinkedIn.com/Vivian Omeokwe and on medium.com/@prettyviv109