Free Verse Poem

Oneness

Healing is a process

Taryn Ariel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

--

A man in a white baseball cap, pulled down low, is standing as fall leaves swirl around him.
Photo by Matthew Hamilton on Unsplash

Watching leaves fall gracefully
floating freely on a gentle breeze
like my spirit when my mind’s at ease
when I tap into my inner peace
stress and problems were my enemies
was drowning in them like a swelling sea

I’ve been working on the antidote
a mix of poetry, therapy, and cracking jokes
and listening to hear whispers of wisdom
and learning how to trust my intuition
to heal from trauma can feel like a mission
to cry and fail, give yourself permission

To backslide, keep showing love and grace
try not to compare cause life is not a race
look into your eyes and behold your face
and see beyond the flesh that time will erase

To realize that there’s a deeper being
an energy that isn’t vain or fleeting
it’s yours and mine and while we are unique
when it shines the oneness of God speaks
the one who finds is the one who seeks
healing comes in time, you’re fine
breathe deep and sleep

©TarynAriel2023

African American writer

Context on the poem: This poem portrays the healing process that I’m currently going through. I am absolutely fascinated by the resilience of the human spirit. We are capable of healing physically, mentally, and spiritually. As long as we give ourselves the right support and resources to do so.

And grace. Plenty of compassion, love, and grace. We are only human, and we will backslide from time to time on this healing journey. And sleep! This whole rewiring neurological pathways shit is not for the weak! With that said, I’m going to bed. Thanks for reading! ❤

If this post resonated with you, feel free to buy me a tea. :)

https://ko-fi.com/tarynariel

--

--

Taryn Ariel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I'm in functional recovery from bpd. Soulfully silly. Wonderfully weird. I write, I sing, I keed, I keed. I jokey with you. <3 https://x.com/TarynArielala