Tighter

Longing to reclaim lost time

E.P. Santiago
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
1 min readSep 3, 2023

--

Original Photo by Uma Sean (UMA SEAN 2023)

never the same dust,
I feel the wind of their stories,
stand taller than my own house,
warm pillars I kept near crumble,

her arms flake onto mine,
I start to clench tighter,
he’s already made room,
I’ve only just started growing,

the walking stick was planted,
there is an orange koi pond,
as I am reminded when it rains,
they watch attentively,

soak it all in,
a vacuum where his vest was,
the pressure has ’em holding tighter,
it came for me much longer after,

I pulled all-nighters and wrote elegies,
stood wrinkled under blue light,
making out silhouettes in my floaters,
if I could burn them into my vision,

but the ashes long settled;
columbarium of stolen memories,
I hold the ocean when I close my eyes,
but the door was closed tighter.

— Chicano poet from Southern California

This is the fourth poem, “TIGHTER,” from my eleventh poetry collection, IN TW*NTY.

--

--

E.P. Santiago
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

There is a place for you here, go and be held by the literature on this page. And please donate to the Palestine Children’s Relief Fund (https://www.pcrf.net/).