Poetry

Post-seventeen Psalms

Exiting adolescence

Diego Zavala-Morineau
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

--

Original Photo by Uma Sean (UMA SEAN 2023)

revealed between my palms,
under the northern lights,
I meditated the psalms,
of post-seventeen mentality,

twilight of late adolescence;
cadence of waning first quarter,
I flipped heads, still,
death raced against ego,

when it came in first,
something was lost,
waving a checkered flag,
stranded off the side of the road,

I learned from the sore sight,
to see more of the golden rays,
through gray clouds under blue skies;
I welcome all that hits my sails,

navigate reinvigorated spirituality,
free at last from the fast-spinning
wheels, found therapy in poetry,
and poetry in therapy,

I behold my younger days,
but I still sleep eagerly,
for the next through every night,
by the serene of sixty-something sonnets,

I dream of the greatest mornings,
but I don’t need to burn my rubber all at once,
I can enjoy the ride, each year,
soaking in a little more sun.

This is the thirteenth poem, “post-seventeen psalms,” from my tenth poetry collection, pre-twenty anxieties.

— Chicano poet from Southern California

--

--

Diego Zavala-Morineau
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

There is a place for you here, go and be held by the literature on this page. And please donate to the Palestine Children’s Relief Fund (https://www.pcrf.net/).