Prayer of the Blind Who Desire to See

Esposito One Love
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
3 min readJun 20, 2023
Photo by Mohammed lak on Unsplash

Place me.
Place me now!
Place me in worlds I’ve lost sight of
but know only in love’s shapeless memory.
Wait not, Love, to place me
in windows that overlook the beauty of freedom —
windows that mirror back to me
the state of my own heart.
Wait no more for days to become years,
and wait no more on lifetimes of this earthly work
to become ages that are spoken of in ancient texts,
written in languages not spoken here any longer
on this planet of beings
that know not yet truthful liberation.

Script me into worlds that we’ve lost knowledge of,
and write me into pleasure windows
where sights of the divine union of masculine and feminine
intertwine in shapes of light
that exude the most brilliant hues
I’ve ever been able to see with eyes
that are of separation from the whole sight
of All’s Central Eye.
Make me the wisdom keeper of all that I see
in windows that look onto love
in all of its great exposures
and fantastic embodiments of freedom sought
amongst the beings of this hard Earth
that you’ve assigned me to.

Make me out to exist in worlds
so that I don’t have to bear
harsh conditions of exploitative labor,
only to reap fruits that carry seeds bearing cracks in them.
Quell my fears of failure here in this earth
by sharing with me sights of the world
that you have asked me to construct.
Let my windows be open
to those who desire light,
and let my light be exposed
so that no shutter conceals my fullness.
Worlds already liberated call me home,
for wherever there is freedom born of you,
there is my home.
Let me no more forget that you are freedom,
and wherever you are,
there, too, is my home.

Make me, then, to see that you are my window
to the great freedom that I seek to live in.
I suppose it may be true that other worlds,
though they entice me so,
are not necessary to behold
for me to live in freedom.
Let me, then, clearly see the window
to this freedom from whence I come.
Open my blinds to the window
that opens onto the path on which you exist.
I dare to look at you.
I dare to see you.
And wherever the face of love,
there, too, shall I find your most glorious plans for me,
and there, too, I shall rise up out of fear,
and this earthly experience,
I will cower before no more.
Clear away my cowardly blinders,
and fortify my earthly roots,
that I may grow as tall as the stars in my universe.
And let my roots here grow as deep as the earth’s core
and as thick as its most bountiful and untouched mountain forests.
Let no more winds of change deter me
from my courses
in living incarnations as bountiful as is necessary
to make known the option of freedom
to those who desire not only to seek out the eye of freedom
but also to enter into its source.
Amen.

© Laquanique Louise Esposito aka L.L.E. or Esposito One Love, 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Afrikan, Indigenous, Black, American Writer.

Shout out and much thanks to Heather Crismond for tagging me in this writer’s challenge… albeit several months ago. Here’s the prompt that served as the fertile grounds from which this soul’s prayer emerged: Would you dare look through your windows? Would you dare tell me what you see? My dear fellow and inspired writers, have at this prompt if you haven’t already! Tag me, as I would love to read what this prompt moves you to create!

--

--

Esposito One Love
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

Heart Healing Path Teacher. Wild Wombmon. Liberation Artist. Time Traveller. Authenticity Coach. Lover of Love. Intuitive Guide. Licensed Master Social Worker.