Reasons

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
1 min readOct 23, 2023
Photo by Tyler Delgado on Unsplash

The cool side of the pillow
The gas station when you’ve been on E for seventy miles
The first crunch of a grilled cheese sandwich
The letter you never thought you would receive
A hand in yours
A chin in the crook of your neck
A song that makes you drive past your exit
Sunset with friends
Singing in the car
Dancing when you shouldn’t
Laughing until you cry
A hug at the right moment
The smile that reminds you it’s not over
The smell of summer
The attraction of a sidelong glance caught before it ends
You

I spent many years of my childhood wondering why. Which why, you ask? I am not sure anymore. I found, however, as cliche as it sounds, that there was more to the search than the actual discovery itself. Somewhere along the line, I started writing the reasons for the why down on paper. Now, when I doubt, fear, or simply just wonder, I read through a list that has grown over years to be a place of mental and emotional solace. It is a good feeling to know that there are many answers to the question “Why?”

American writer

--

--

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

PE teacher, rowing coach, and fearer of words and their consequences