Sacrifice Unworthy

Photo by Jonatan Pie on Unsplash

The highlight of my day
Twenty minutes, possibly thirty
On a great day, an hour
Sometimes the silence says everything
A sidelong glance reveals the color of your eyes
Somewhere between teeth on your bottom lip
And holding my heart in your hands
Every day, just those minutes
for which my heart beats
are gone.
I pray that afterward,
you will still find twenty minutes
to sit beside me.

The time we spend with those important to us often passes far too quickly. We are excited, we are overwhelmed, we are simply enjoying the company of another and, before we know it, (in this case) the car ride is over. Regardless , my gratitude for these minutes, even those spent in silence, is and always will be great, even if those with whom I sat never truly understood how much they meant to me.

American writer

--

--

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

PE teacher, rowing coach, and fearer of words and their consequences