Serenity in Solitude

Walking the path of peace and privacy

Sangeeta R Mathew
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readMar 26, 2024

--

Image edited by author on Canva.

I lay awake yet again.
The echo of crickets chirping
Erupting with each strike of the clock.

Tossing and turning
Unable to attract slumber
I begrudgingly wake up and take a hike.

The night sky is alive.
Stars glimmering and twinkling
Unlike the world that is sound asleep.

I stroll in the darkness.
With the moon as my guide
The silence and tranquility embracing me.

Living in the light
I had forgotten the lure of dark.
Missed the beauty and peace only night brings.

As I gaze at the sky,
I feel the familiar warmth within.
Overwhelming me with the harmony of serenity.

I stay rooted for hours.
Watching the night bleed away
The world still sleeps as I witness the change in solitude.

Note

This is a simple piece of poetry that talks about my love for both serenity and solitude. In a world drowning in noise and a constant rush, the thought of peace is the only thing that fuels me. I find it easier to achieve when I am by myself, with nobody and nothing else to influence me.

Sangeeta is a poet who writes to not only express herself but also find peace through every piece of art she creates. She resides in India.

--

--

Sangeeta R Mathew
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I am a simple human being trying to navigate life by writing. I love to write about topics that excite me. I prefer not to limit my musings to a label.