Shadowplay

A girl and her obsession with her own shadow

--

In the image, there is a girl standing on a balcony. Her shadow is cast upon the opposite wall. The buildings around are illuminated by bright city lights, which create a blurred, hazy effect in the picture.
Or are you my ego, always in my way?
( Photo by Nishtha Srivastava )

Amidst the chaotic city life and the bright lights, I stand still on my balcony, feeling the cold air on my skin and listening to soft melodies in my ears.

In this moment, I can’t help but notice the other-me, the one that’s more defined and darker, much like a painting cast upon the wall of the building across.

Well, I have a fondness for playing with my shadows.

Sometimes, I just observe its shade, wondering if I’m darker today than I was yesterday, whether the depth of my unconscious fears and unspoken desires has grown in the shadows of my existence.

Other times, I engage in a dance with the lights, the play of the shapes. I yearn to be the perfection I always dream of.

I also measure time with my shifting shadows. Has it changed in a while?

Yet, on certain days, I choose to disregard my fainter shadow, the unknown, less desirable aspect of myself. I pretend there is enough light all around.

Nevertheless, I know you are personal, and we exist in duality,

Much like light and darkness, good and evil, happiness and sorrow, dream and reality.

And so, on that balcony, amidst the chaos and the lights, I continued to play with my alter personality.

Indian writer

--

--

Dr. Nishtha Srivastava
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

Resident Doctor in Anesthesiology | Medicine, Philosophy, Psychology, History, Writing, Fitness interests me.