Sun, Moon and Stars

Reconnecting with the inner wild child

Sangeeta R Mathew
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readDec 12, 2023

--

Image edited by the author on Canva

Happiness is flowing through me.
Making paths through the raging sea.
My face reflects the warmth of the rays.
As the light within dispels the greys.

Everyone around me calls me their sunshine.
With a beaming grin, like I am on cloud nine.
I skip to my own tune, making others ecstatic.
Sounds of mirth resonating everywhere, dramatic.

As the sky fades from tints of yellow and red
The night comes calling for the hidden and unsaid.
The moon within shining through the darkness.
And the waves crash down within, like catharsis.

The angel of the light is laid down to a fitful rest.
The siren of the dark owns the stage at my behest.
With eyes as bright as the moon on the blackest night,
She walks in, dressed in emotion, and is quite a sight.

With her beautiful lyrics, she awaken my affections.
The melodies delicately unveil all the imperfections.
Stark naked with all the tall walls broken down.
I stand in the spotlight, wearing my natural crown.

The passion underneath rises like a mighty tide.
Moving me towards a path I had always denied.
Holding back is not the way of the enchantress.
So she takes me forward to see my Atlantis.

In the plains and forgotten valleys of my mind.
I see the most precious wealth I left behind.
I tearily smile and clasp the portrait of a young child.
The one with the sun, moon, and stars running wild.

Notes: This poem talks about the dichotomy that exists within every individual. The sun throws light on the positives, while the moon brings out the parts that are hidden from the outside world. It also talks about the inner child that is forgotten in the rush to grow up.

Sangeeta is an Indian author living in Kerala.

--

--

Sangeeta R Mathew
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I am a simple human being trying to navigate life by writing. I love to write about topics that excite me. I prefer not to limit my musings to a label.