Swollen Hands

A mindful poem

--

Original Artwork by Uma Sean (UMA SEAN 2023)

I was uncovered, finally,
predisposed to the cold,

it was not some depression,
in my scalp,

only the light of truth,
reflecting off silk webs,

I was chilling on the roof,
with my brother,

catching shadows,
off telephone poles at sunset,

now, I begin to feel the southern rain,
but there is warmth in knowing,

from within, I can still see,
through the blinds,

the cozy proximity through time
to the freedom practice, always,

I continue my relationship,
to the rain, but in the shower,

these hours don’t run me,
they’re under blankets,

by an ember’s embrace,
unclenched; drier, my red fist,

there is freedom to rain-dance,
and need to retire.

This is the first poem, “Swollen Hands (fka. freedom practice),” from my seventh poetry collection, the lint.

— Chicano poet from Southern California

--

--

Diego Zavala-Morineau
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

There is a place for you here, go and be held by the literature on this page. And please donate to the Palestine Children’s Relief Fund (https://www.pcrf.net/).