Table for Two, Please

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
3 min readMay 12, 2024

--

Photo by Max Titov on Unsplash

The one day each year where the thing you do the best is celebrated

But overtaken
By the cute moms and daughters
In their Sunday best
Brunching

My brain is lower than
Its lowest
It’s fighting for air
I can see it through the window

But it looks
A million miles away
The glass is too thick
And my legs are too heavy

No one wants to see this anyway,
I say

The squirrel on the fence
As I make my coffee
Makes me smile
In his usual perch

Taking the day as it comes
No worries about bills
Or jobs
Finances
And savings accounts

No worries about judgments
And if he gained a pound
He’s secured enough nuts over

The winter to
Sustain
Him and the bounty is good
Today he basks in the sun
And takes it easy

--

--

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....