Terminal

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
1 min readNov 4, 2023
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Bad jokes
taxes
citizenship and Christmas gifts
Visits paid and time spent
Chances missed for all their abundance

You fade
I flee the harsh reality
you long ago accepted

I wish they had been
letters
fireside chats
pictures of your grandchildren
and reruns of the Simpsons

I apologize
unnecessarily
for it won’t make a difference regardless
of how much I meant to say.

“Meaning” means so little

He is sick and he will not get better. Watching someone depart this world, your relationship with them, and their sanity, slowly but surely is… challenging. As much as I seek to understand our insignificance in this world, I often find myself overwhelmed by how significant things in my life and this world can be to me, my family, and my friends. And while I understand, logically, that this is the natural way of things, there is such a domineering, irrational part of me that just cannot let go. I will miss him.

American writer

No pressure to highlight, comment, or clap, just enjoy the words and pass the positivity on.

In gratitude :)

Beauty, abomination, and everything in between

463 stories
Photo of the handwritten poem in the author’s notebook

--

--

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

PE teacher, rowing coach, and fearer of words and their consequences