To Be Real

On being emotionally real, sometimes I feel ghostly

Carol Smith, MA
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
1 min readFeb 29, 2024

--

Photo by David Dibert on Unsplash

I settled
warmly in my nook
lifted by such a longing
my heart shook

and from that little earthquake
this plea emerged:

Make me real
oh spirit of the heart

Make me real

Make me real.

The spirit replied

WORK!
Cinderella wasn’t a princess until she was
WORK! Think, toil, muscle, knot, write, untie.
Get awkward and experience pain
Do not give them an excuse
to pass their love by you

Work diligently, work sincerely, work often
work well
work ethically

how else do you build
your substance, your gravity
your reputation
be marble not vibration

carve yourself a life
dear one.

I am an America born in Ukraine. This poem emerged from listening to a podcast on parenting, Andrew Huberman’s podcast about the importance of believing our children’s experiences and tuning into them. He also talked about the fact that working is connected to feeling real. Sometimes I feel cloudy and substance-less, as if I don’t belong anywhere. Sometimes I believe I don’t work enough, or as hard as I should, so this poem/inner dialogue with parts of myself served the purpose of helping me gain insight into myself.

--

--

Carol Smith, MA
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I write mostly poetry. I like to say I write from the veins. I have a masters degree in clinical psychology.