When Words Fail

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
1 min readOct 20, 2023
Photo by Dynamic Wang on Unsplash

Your worth: concrete
Your meaning: extreme, but nebulous,
like a cloud one tries to hold in their hand
Heart hammering
Tears welling
Voice cracking
Thoughts a million miles per hour
Hug you?
Hold your hand?
Stroke your hair?
Kiss you?
Somehow you have become
my alpha
and my omega

True speechlessness is a feeling that I have experienced only a handful of times in my life. Having long prided myself on my ability to articulate my thoughts, feelings, and ideas in words (even if only privately), each instance has been like a hammer blow.

Not having words to describe something paralyzed me. I felt the driving need to quantify the experience somehow, but with age, my patience for myself and the world has grown and now, I long for the moments in life that steal my ability to frame them lexically. They represent a sweet, savorable moment of blissful feeling.

Have you shared similar experiences?

American writer

--

--

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

PE teacher, rowing coach, and fearer of words and their consequences