11 Seconds

A Poem

Julia Appa
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Yaroslav Shuraev from Pexels

“Do you love me?”

1 I breathe
2 my heart’s pounding
3 he doesn’t look away but his eyes look different
4 I know his lips won’t smile
5 if he says “Yes” it’s a lie because he has waited too long to say something

“Do you miss me?”

There was a time his eyes were filled with joy
his lips weren’t able to cover his teeth
because that’s how happy I made him

his fingers resting in my neck
kissing me
his answer
his way of saying that
I was stupid for even asking

without doubt

6 thinking about the past
seeing memories flashing by
means knowing it is over
expecting a goodbye

7 over

8 over
lying on my tongue doesn’t feel right
over turning into my hands
looking at my palms
doesn’t feel right

--

--

Julia Appa
The Brain is a Noodle

Just a 23-year-old who’s obsessed with writing. Instagram: juliaminus_romeo