4 Smart Considerations For When You Apply To Graduate School

All the things I wish someone told me explicitly

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

If you are like me in my graduate school application days, you’re doing all the research you can to pitch yourself as the best candidate.

Your goal, after all, is to get into the school of your dreams and excel in the program.

I’m here for that.

This article puts together the pieces of advice I didn’t quite find on my journey of researching on the internet, that I find myself passing on in word-of-mouth manner to research assistants in the lab.

It’s a long article, but imagine that we’re sitting in a virtual coffee shop and talking about what you need to know. This is a choose your own adventure document. Pick the pieces of advice that pertain to you best, in this virtual coffee chat. Feel free to tweet me if there are any concerns or questions that I didn’t tackle!

Consider External Funding

Photo by Chronis Yan on Unsplash

While most Canadian and American graduate schools provide internal funding to support students through a graduate program, it’s often just…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.