5 Quotes from ‘The Midnight Library’ That Improved My Understanding of Anxiety and Regret

As well as how I currently cope with these strong feelings

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Melody Ruby on Unsplash

Book: The Midnight Library
Author: Matt Haig

The Midnight Library is a book that I disappeared into and emerged several hours later, my life changed. For one, I related to the main protagonist. She was a bookworm and some of her deepest friendships were with librarians.

As a book about multiple parallel lives borne out of multiple choices, it was also comforting to read during the pandemic. I’m at a crossroads in numerous aspects of my life, being just shy off the mid-twenty line. There are big, scary decisions I need to make about my career, my relationships and my finances that all feel like they could fall to shambles if I make the wrong step.

This story is one that directly tackles that anxiety that comes from people who calculate all the possible endings to each choice. Is that you? Stay buckled in for the ride. If it’s not you, come join us anyways! It’s likely you know a dear friend who is exactly like this. We’re known to populate the world.

Enclosed are also reflection prompts that you can use as journal prompts or personal essay prompts, whatever works for you…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.