A Different Death

I am not the same as I was and neither are you.

Nerissa Talique
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readJun 9, 2022

--

Photo by Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

You are now gone to me yet I see you everyday,

you’ve lost all meaning to me but I still vividly know your face.

How can this be that you and I are so far apart, but still I may trace your footsteps by just going about my day.

Your rage has burned you so finely, your very soul ashen and gray, It has buried you so deeply that no coffin could have bettered.

Your pride, coating you cold and stiff that you are a mere husk of your former self.

You still smile though, And live and breathe just as you once did,

But to me you have died.

And to you so have I.

We can no longer do as we once did and I regret that sometimes,

But I too have been buried by my anger and embalmed by pride,

No apologies to be said and we have no tears left to cry,

As we suffer this different kind of death side by side.

Thank you all for reading even if it is just one of you. I would really appreciate if you left a clap or two along with a comment. I really do appreciate the engagement.

I do not remember when I wrote this poem I found it stashed a way in my notes app today and now here it is. Leave me your thoughts and consider reading my other works below.

--

--

Nerissa Talique
The Brain is a Noodle

A young woman with a wide ranging love for all things literature and nature so much so I dream of being both a Biologist and a Novelist.