A BOOK OF LOVE LETTERS

A Love Letter To My Teenage Daughter

Daniel Burg
The Brain is a Noodle
Dec 30, 2021

--

Abigail the teenager Photo by Daniel Burg

Buzzing around her room like an angry gnat
I wonder how it would be to clean a gnat home.

No fourteen-year-old daughters
Only four months to live.
Just flying and humming and dying too soon.

No bras on the floor
Nor toothpaste in the sink
Nor baby oil pooling on the tile.

No half drunk drinks
Nor half eaten food
Nor homework nor hair ties to puzzle over.

No bikinis' at the pool
Nor boys that see them
No me that cares that they do.

So to all the unmade beds
and other things that hurt my head.
I’ll learn to love them too
because it's all part of you.

--

--

Daniel Burg
The Brain is a Noodle

lifelong learner l writer l creator l cook l long-term traveler | Interested in opportunities for co-creation.