#WritingPrompt: Tactile experience of words

A Promise

a poem and a writing challenge!

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readJan 13, 2022

--

Photo by Womanizer Toys on Unsplash

Listening to these moments
Instead of tampering with them to float,
Letting them sit and bloat
Or sink the boat

Smoothing my fingers
Over the curvature of the words.
Some jagged
Some softening to round
As soon as I dance
Instead of wrestle

Letting these moments be my moments
Alone
In my thoughts

A reaction
In coping
With narratives unheard
Narratives pushed down
Narratives cut and pasted
To eliminate the part
Where I existed in pain
Focusing only on
The profit that you gained.

It wasn’t right
It isn’t right
And I’m hearing that.
I’m hearing that loud and clear,
Even if others won’t.

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.