A Reflection Exercise on Writing, Work and Self-Care

Aka response to July interview questions

Niru
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

This post is a response to the excellent July Interview Questions by Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她). I love her prompts as they get me writing and more importantly reflecting on different themes and philosophies. I had a lot of fun with June’s questions on idea generation, relationships and culture- so I am eager to try this month’s set as well.

Without further ado, here we go:

[1] If you could go back to the beginning of your writing career, however far back that is, what is one tip you would give yourself?

Start writing.

Start Publishing.

Start sharing.

When I began, I used to write on and off. When I began consistently blogging, I barely shared. Like many newbies, I held back for a variety of reasons. Inexperience, insecurities, ignorance, indecision, you name it!

But really, unless we share, unless we get eyeballs on our work and start actively soliciting feedback, improvement, and progress will both be painfully slow. Don’t get or stay in that trap. Come out already.

--

--

Niru
The Brain is a Noodle

Reader. Author. Analyst. Mom. Mentor. Posts on making time for reading, discovering and exploring ideas, inculcating gratitude, and learning from experiences.