Brief Encounter

Why can’t you stay?

Elizabeth Hilsch
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Everytime I think you’re solved
When I clutch the final clue
The mirror flexes and evolves
I lean in and fall through

You're a smoke that I can taste
Long after you have gone
The more I try to gather you
The more I find I've none

Just when I resolve that you’re a vision
Of thoughts too thin to track
You strike the glass from the other side
And I’ll find you staring back

Did you know we'd come to this?
Lifes lived on different sides
And did you leave my cheek this kiss?
Hearts linked but loosely tied

I wrote this thinking of people who come into your life so briefly that you never really get the shape of them. People who, had they arrived at a different time may have been a bigger part of your life. I wonder who decides who stays and who flits away? Thanks for reading.

https://medium.com/write-under-the-moon/the-pied-viper-21147219c671

--

--

Elizabeth Hilsch
The Brain is a Noodle

Elizabeth Mavis Hilsch 💫 I want to write poems that help you put words to feelings that are hard to describe.