Can You Keep a Secret? No One Knows This is On My Bookshelf…

Whenever I look at it I get inspired, and a little jealous, which is the perfect mix of emotions.

Nia Simone McLeod
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by George Milton from Pexels

On my miniature brown bookshelf, I have a copy of one of the greatest albums ever: Kendrick Lamar’s good kid, m.A.A.d city. I love this album so much that I bought it on vinyl even though I don’t have a record player.

GKMC vividly tells the tale of Lamar growing up in Compton, CA. 2021 is GKMC’s 9th anniversary. It would still be difficult to find a better album.

Although the album inspires me, I still get a bit jealous when I look at it. Lamar released GKMC when he was 25 and I’ll be 26 in less than a week. It makes me wonder when I’ll release my own captivating body of work — or whether I will at all *cue dramatic music*.

But, of course, everyone’s journey is different…yadda yadda yadda…insert some self-improvement jargon here.

Thanks a million to Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) for the awesome writing prompt (per usual lol!) If you’d like to check it out and write your own, go check out her post:

Nia Simone McLeod is a writer, content creator, and professional baddie. The Medium publications she created, oh, write, coiled, and bling bling are super lit. And oh yeah, she’s got a newsletter too, because of course she does.

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
The Brain is a Noodle

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome