Poem: Chin up, Head above Water, the Show Must Go On.

Sruthi Korlakunta
The Brain is a Noodle
1 min readJan 7, 2022

--

Photo by Noel Nichols on Unsplash

It wasn’t a misstep but I stumbled anyway.
I knew you wouldn’t break my fall,
but I was too sure to care.
I feel the wind in my hair,
As I fall, my heart pounds in fear,
the drop is deep and the crash will hurt,
but I wouldn’t have it any other way.
I saw the edge of the cliff,
but I walked on ahead anyway.
I felt hands withdraw,
and cease having my back.
But if I had stopped,
I wouldn’t have been the same.
I look around,
but I don’t search for you,
I also love the emptiness in your space.
I see people, things, and places that aren’t you,
But I mistake them all,
without you, they’re not the same.
It is in the past, leave it there,
I hear people often say,
But it made me who I am,
and I thank you for that,
Even though it hurts,
I am here to stay.

--

--

Sruthi Korlakunta
The Brain is a Noodle

I write on tech, books, and lifestyle. | Data analyst | Made human by all the people who love me.