Cracked Laptop Screen

Pandemic Poetry

Connie Song
The Brain is a Noodle
1 min readJan 11, 2021

--

Photo credit The Creative Exchange on Unsplash

I came, I saw, I wrote
and now my words lie lonely
behind a cracked glass screen,
gently screaming to me,
but I’m hungry for food,
for love, for attention,
spending my day
sharpening pencils,
drawing doodles,
craving noodles,
and hitting keys to punch out more words,
that will sit lonely upon the page,
just waiting.

My brain needs some company during the pandemic,
and that’s why I tell the glowing screen more stories,
so we can embrace the sunsets,
steal some stars,
and enjoy our broken, cracked lives together.

© Connie Song 2021. All Rights Reserved

Gratitude: These simple words are personally meaningful as they describe life for me during these past ten months of the pandemic. If I put them in a time capsule with some other trinkets, my great grandchildren may have glimpses I hope they treasure like drops of sunlight, despite the hardships and struggles.

A special thank you to editor Lucy The Eggcademic (she/her) and her Medium writing publication The Brain is a Noodle, for giving my words a most lovely table to sit at.

Connie Song 2021.

--

--

Connie Song
The Brain is a Noodle

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Twitter Connie Song 10.