Dear Reflection

Sai Kiran Ramarapu
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readJan 14, 2022
Photo by a_m_o_u_t_o_n on Pixabay

Dear Reflection,

Everyday I wake up and
you’re the first thing that I see

somebody different, but
somebody real

Am I truly the person
who I’m meant to be?

I look at you and think
WOW! he’s been through a lot

from his thoughts and
everything that he’s got

I’m afraid to tell my reflection
that I love him

because
what if, in the future it goes away?
what if, the person he is right now won’t remain the same?
what if, my life is all just a sick little game?

Author’s Note: I have been reflecting a lot lately. Staying awake at night expounding on all the things that I could’ve done differently. The things I wish I hadn’t done, and the things I wish I had. Whilst I’m at it, I also think of all the people that I came across in my life both in-person and online. The people I let slip through my cold bony fingers, and the people that stayed with me my entire life. Sometimes I feel life is beautiful, and filled with experiences to cherish and make new ones. And other times I feel life is full of shit and meaningless. Whatever it may be, I am thankful for all of this. That’s it!

--

--

Sai Kiran Ramarapu
The Brain is a Noodle

I am a 26 year old student, researcher from India. I study turbulence for a living. I am a birder and an avid reader. I write short stories and poems