POETRY

Decaying

Free verse poetry

James G Brennan
The Brain is a Noodle
Oct 10, 2020

--

Photo by James G. Brennan.

Writing’s distracted again,
Green letters on a white bag
Containing dusty snorkelling gear
Exclaiming, “Use Me!” hangs on a hook
Decaying through sea salt and mould in front of me,
Just far enough away for me to forget about most times.

It’s not going to cleanse itself
It’s going to decay more and more
Until it breaks, maybe the handle will snap
Or a hole will tear open in its rotting side spilling
Snorkelling gear as I just sit and watch it crashing to the floor.
Or, how about I get up off my lazy arse and do something about it.

Thank you Lucy (the eggcademic) for giving my words here a platform to noodle at The Brain is a Noodle. Thank you all for reading. Always. J.

--

--

James G Brennan
The Brain is a Noodle

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.