My superpower

--

Photo by Gabriela Braga on Unsplash

there was a time
where I needed
your approval
to feel confident
in moving forward.

there was a time
when I needed
to ensure that
my next steps
aligned with your needs
more than mine,
to minimize the chance
that you would use this
as an excuse to hurt me,

or worse, take away something I loved.

not anymore.
the control is mine
& I can experiment as
I see fit.

that is my superpower.

Originally appeared here, as a journal.

Another poem. Flavour: bittersweet

Documenting my journey on Medium, writing, reflecting and connecting!

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.