POETRY

Frankincense

Free verse poetry

James G Brennan
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readSep 16, 2020

--

Photo by Mads Schmidt Rasmussen on Unsplash

It is a smell that has stayed with me
Since a young age a scent I even enjoy now
Its pungent release from pierced silver
As its essence fills large halls.

Rattled from swinging chains
In a brief rhythmic motion
Is enough to invoke potent beliefs
Through incantations some call prayer.

Passing my nostrils up through my nasal cavity
Producing a head rush if I am not careful
I too will feel the urge to join in these incantations,
To be swept along in the moment maybe even
Join chanting followers in their beliefs
For a few brief moments, and so the realisation dawns.

To be frank I wish not to be seduced by this burning resin
We call Frankincense to join your clan and find my voice
Is no longer my own. So keep your resin and let me be.

Is this Frank enough for you Lucy? If not I may become incensed.

This response is to Lucy (the eggcademic) Frank. Thank you Lucy for your Frank prompt… Read Lucy’s prompts here.

And Lucy’s own Frank response here…

Thank you Lucy (the eggcademic) for giving my words a platform here at
The Brain is a Noodle… Thank you all for reading and your precious time… J.

--

--

James G Brennan
The Brain is a Noodle

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.