Growing Pains

We all suffer from them from time to time

Nerissa Talique
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readJun 10, 2022

--

An black letter board with the quote “Difficult roads leads to beautiful destinations.” with a potted plant next to it.
Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

When you’ve outgrown the things you once loved ,
When they no longer serve you the way they once did,
You are now forced into a space unknown,
Unfamiliar, without the safe harbor you once knew.

You must now fit yourself into this new space and time,
To reinvent your picture to fit this new frame,
It is uncomfortable, uneasy and you’re unsure on what to do.

This is a challenge that we all must one day face,
We are all susceptible to the passing of time
and the always evident change.

However with this passing of time we will learn to enjoy
our new faces,
To fit into our new forms and embrace our evident phases,
Because none of us can go on in this life without going through
some alteration and it subsequent education,
Because all of us must bear some growing pains.

This poem was written in October 2020 and it represented me acknowledging the amount of growth I had to go through that year. Accepting failure, dealing with fear, losing loved ones and learning to change perspectives. It doesn’t feel like an exaggeration to say that 2020 was a painful, heartbreaking year but having on through it I can say I’m stronger for it and that it was just a start of many changes to come.

Thank you all for reading even if it is just one of you. I would really appreciate if you left a clap or two along with a comment. I really do appreciate the engagement. If you enjoy my work please consider reading my other works linked below.

--

--

Nerissa Talique
The Brain is a Noodle

A young woman with a wide ranging love for all things literature and nature so much so I dream of being both a Biologist and a Novelist.