POETRY

Half-Hearted

A misshapen love poem

Kasun Ranasinghe
The Brain is a Noodle
3 min readApr 6, 2021

--

Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

​​​ ​ ​ ​ ​​​ ​​​ ​ ​ ​ ​​​ ​​​ ​ ​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​ ​ ​​​​​I want to write a love poem
​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​ ​​​ to share with my beloved, to pour my
​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​​​heart out on to pieces of paper, stain the white
in crimson ink, Barely able to bear the beating drum
behind the brittle bones of my ribs, but the words ring
hollow, not enough to say what I truly mean, half-hearted
words spew from hungry lips, starving for the kisses I miss,
I love you seemed bland, overused, and abused by many men,
I will say it my own way, weave together hopes and dreams,
Along with old memories, the precious moments we spent,
We were like awkward children, innocent but corrupted.
Remember our first date, when we split the bill in two?
I, the man, deemed to pay, but you said fu** the rule,
I loved you before, but your gesture threw my heart
halfway past the moon, we both met in the middle,
The stingy boy, a classy girl, a romcom re-written
for the modern age, men and women are equal,
We finished our script, began filming sequels,
Going Dutch 8, coming to a theater near you,
From movie dates, video calls, love letters,
You are the 30 minutes of my every hour,
Giving me your time to spend together,
Like the 50 cents of every dollar we
save to build our dream together,
for us two, and the pitter-patter
of little feet, stinky nappies,
and sleepless…

--

--