It was a circular conversation

a poem (that may or may not be circular)

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Ash Hayes on Unsplash

It was a circular conversation,
a new year’s resolution dropped dead
as I was already feeling queasy
from being ill,
typical inhibition leaving my body
like my will to roll out of bed.

It was a circular conversation,
as they insisted that if a woman is harassed,
then it’s up to her to block and report,
because who else can do anything about it?
I snapped, because I’m tired.
I snapped, because I’m already blocking and reporting.
I snapped, because I can’t be the panacea to this problem because I did not START it.

It was a circular conversation,
as he said matter-of-factedly,
“Well you can’t hold him accountable,
how are we supposed to hold him accountable
if it’s online? You need to just block and report him
because there’s nothing else to do.”

We stayed at detailed level,
of looking at each incident,
where the weight of “solving” harassment…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.