“Just Stop Caring About What They Say”: A Sour Saga

a poem

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Underneath it all
I wanted to be liked
No matter how much
Others tried to
Impose the idea
That the only way to be happy
Is to be segmented entirely
From what others may think

I challenge that.
It’s not
That I deny or reject entirely
What others might think,
But temper what might get through
The filter,
To affect how I might
Conceptualize something
Or to
Act on something.

#WritingPrompt: other people’s perceptions — what is your relationship with them?

💌 Quick! Click here to have these delivered to your inbox daily to smash that writer’s block with me!

🔁 Switch it up and challenge *ME* to a writing prompt instead 🤣

Hi, I’m Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) and … this actually lifted something off my shoulders today.

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.