Let me be me

A poem for the anxious fixer in me

Ashlea Morgan, PhD
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Fausto Marqués on Unsplash

I feel anxious often.
Things in the future are
distant / not in my control.

I know that there is some level
of anxiety that is productive:
it keeps you on your toes, but
anything above that is going
to cause real distress.

This “anxious edge” pushed
me to become who I am
today, but it is a source of
mental & physical anguish.

Fixing” this involves taking
a moment every day to
do something for me and
sticking to that regime.

I try not to overwork. I try
to use these things called
boundaries. I talk with
my therapist and friends.

I take quiet moments
to examine my thoughts,
and to feel my emotions,
whether good or bad.

I spend time intentionally
loving myself, and practice
being non-judgemental.

--

--

Ashlea Morgan, PhD
The Brain is a Noodle

I‘m a medical writer ✍🏿 & neurobiology Ph.D. 🧠 who studied how we think & behave flexibly. Grateful 🙏🏿 for family, friends, & food ❤️.