My Brain Has Frozen In Winter

a poem about writer’s block

Tatum Hamernik
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Adrian Infernus on Unsplash

My brain has frozen in winter
January snow slowly falling to the ground
I would give anything to unthaw
Ideas that my mind might bring around

The white from the screen
Blares into my eyes like a taunt
When I look out the window
The same color seems to haunt

Pure white is the absence of color
Along with the vacancy of ideas
I hope that spring will come along soon
The warmth brought forth to free us

Thank you, Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她), for tagging me in the #WritingPrompt: FIERCE

I was struggling with a bout of writer’s block, and this prompt helped get some words onto the page!

--

--

Tatum Hamernik
The Brain is a Noodle

Author of Ocean Breath: A Poetry Book. Freelance writer, book lover, YouTube fan, and Instagram poet | www.tatumhamernik.com