My Safe Space

a poem about a place that makes me feel at home

Rachella Angel Page
The Brain is a Noodle
1 min readAug 14, 2021

--

Photo by vnwayne fan on Unsplash

Hidden in the stacks,
there are galaxies,
universes and worlds
gathered at my feet,
surrounding me, within reach.
I separate what I think
could be pearls and rubies
from ones that seem like
solid bronze.

From age 4, the library
was my safe place, a
home where I feel
both inspired and welcome.

I love how there is
never a limit of opportunities
to explore many worlds
without leaving the
couches and tables
that comprised
the children’s area
and now the main
stacks.

During the pandemic,
I feel like my safe space
is ripped away from
me, I miss it terribly.
I long for it daily.
No audiobook or e-book
make up for the feeling
of an actual book in my hands:
solid softcovers which feel
like silk in my hands,
opening my mind to consider
a different world or perception.

Thank you for reading today, I appreciate the time given :) This poem came from the prompt: a safe place. Tagging anyone who wants to participate, prompt is below:

--

--

Rachella Angel Page
The Brain is a Noodle

Lifestyle and creative non-fiction writer. Wife. Momma of two dogs: Maxwell and Lady. Obsessed with road trips, poetry and Kickstart. IG: @pagesofrachella