Oh No, Have I Created Accidental Clickbait?

a poem, and a moist one, at that

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Cleo Vermij on Unsplash

Does accidentally creating clickbait
give you the sweats?
Make your heart race, and your mouth go dry?

While some rely on clickbait to sell their content
why does this concept
bring beads of moisture
to the brow above my left eye?

If we dig deeper
it’s because clickbait
is the epitome of overpromoting
and underdelivering;

and my imposter syndrome
constantly strives for the opposite ratio
of underpromoting and overdelivering,
JUST in case I’m missing some deeper point
and the piece is not as good as I thought it is
as I sent out my draft in the world.

Between the clickbait
of screaming too loudly in the title
and providing little to chew on in the body
and a sense of imposter syndrome
of muting the title
so that no one actually gets to taste
the gems of your piece

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
The Brain is a Noodle

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.