Ride

Poetry Prompt: Reflection Time

--

Photo by Saketh Garuda on Unsplash

It is usually in the car when I drive
And stuck in a 2-hour ride.

Sometimes I sing and bop my head too high
Most times I talk, not on the phone
But to myself when I know
No one can hear my thoughts and deep sighs.

A random opinion occurring suddenly in the mind
Is this not what I say out loud when you’re around?

I cry and scream and realize I’m not fine
My heart speaks in the silence
Of muted engines, honks, and beeps.

Turn left and rev up towards a familiar street
Wipe your eyes, shake them off
You need to unlock this door.

“Oh hi”, she says and I smile
Previous reflections all already gone
On this car ride # 5,429.

--

--

Punch Drunk Cola
The Brain is a Noodle

A Xennial who takes too long making her coffee, turns her laundry pink and can never fold fitted sheets.