Saturday

VV Valentine
The Brain is a Noodle
1 min readApr 16, 2023
photo by author

It’s the afternoon breeze that sweeps down from Cahuenga Peak

and through my open front door

It’s the sound of gently colliding wind chimes outside my window;

the helicopter flying overhead

the music streaming through the open window of a postal van as Debbie, our mail carrier, backs into a spot out front

It’s the airliner lifting off from Burbank Airport and

the birdsong, so much birdsong

It’s my little dog barking as Debbie opens and closes the van’s sliding doors;

It’s the Healthy Choice “Buddha Bowl” I am consuming for lunch after having spent the entire morning binge watching Beef on Netflix instead of tending to the dishes accumulating in my sink

It’s knowing I have two pints of Haagen-Daz in my freezer

It’s having the rest of the afternoon in front of me with

Nothing to do

Nowhere to go

No one to see

It’s heaven

It’s Saturday

--

--

VV Valentine
The Brain is a Noodle

Humanist. Essayist. Amateur anthropologist. Unapologetic adjective slut. vvvalentine.com