Self-Care is Gritty

Rachella Angel Page
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readDec 29, 2022

poetry

Photo by Cristian Castillo on Unsplash

Self-care, is never the $80 haircut-
I’ll take my mohawk or shave for $20.
The $70 manicure- I can see my nails
sparkle as they dance across the keyboard.
I’ll spend the $15 for base and sparkle and
paint my own 90% of the time.

It’s the small things that make my day.

The ones I spend money on:
The $5 Stitch notebook, a reminder
to not take myself too seriously.

The leatherbound ones I use for
creative journaling because it feeds
my soul to use artwork and writing.

The $20 writing book I bought this morning
because I don’t feel normal without writing.

The sunglasses cut in a coffin shape.
Yes, I can have practical, cheaper ones,
but these are fun and fit me better.

And the ones that come free:
Cuddling with my dog for calm and comfort
knowing that he’s on loan for love. The winks
sparking joy.

Pouring my heart onto a freshly white sheet.

Bingeing wrestling which takes me back
to youth and makes me smile.

The long showers because I love the heat
on long, cold days pouring on my skin.

Challenging myself to make the right
decision… the one that might not benefit
myself right now but will later on.

Usually though, it involves getting my hands
splotched with ink, glue or otherwise dirty.

--

--

Rachella Angel Page
The Brain is a Noodle

Lifestyle and creative non-fiction writer. Wife. Momma of two dogs: Maxwell and Lady. Obsessed with road trips, poetry and Kickstart. IG: @pagesofrachella