Gratitude

Thanks, Dad

Maybe we will meet again

Dana Sanford
The Brain is a Noodle
Oct 28, 2020

--

Thanks

For introducing me to a magic land
* walking and talking in the mountains and desert
that you called ‘Gods’ country’
For your old copy of “Leaves of Grass”
* I think it saved my life
For your apologies
* You kept me humble
For clacking that old typewriter into the night
For being there when my mind was lost
For being imperfect
For letting me be imperfect
For knowing me and not wanting me to be you
For caring
For introductions to culture and real people
For encouraging me to find my own way

This is a short list, Dad. I think of you often.
It’s been 40 years since the bullet took you away (That may have influenced my relationships). The anger and loss have mostly passed.
You were a good father. Thank you.
Via con Dios.
Your Loving Son,
Dana

For Lucy The Eggcademic (she/her) prompt in The Brain is a Noodle

--

--