The Darkness in My Room

Caused by the power outage

Writer's Dream
The Brain is a Noodle
1 min readAug 12, 2023

--

What a power outage at night taught me about the true nature of life?
Photo by David Gabrić on Unsplash

The room is pitch dark.

When I stepped outside my room, I saw darkness everywhere. I can see a few flickering lights in the distant apartments. But other than this, there is no light.

The complete darkness has its own beauty.

I can experience this only when there is a power outage at night.

Inside my room, it looks like a complete void. My vision submerges in the blackness. Only the sound of my breath fills the emptiness. The jet-black darkness reminds me of nothingness. Without light, everything I call mine vanishes — my bed, kitchen, painting, laptop,writing-everything becomes non-existent to my mortal eyes.

I can only feel my breath and thought.

Probably, the darkness teaches me that only these two are under my control.

Everything else is transitory in life.

Click here to get my free newsletter on a simple lifestyle and online writing.

--

--