The Day I Saw Colors

A Free Verse Piece

Tally
The Brain is a Noodle

--

MasashiWakui via Pixabay

Up until a certain age

I always felt like life was so black and white

The boredom of school

Coupled with a lack of friends

And a home that wasn’t suitable for children

Was the fuel to my now-anxious mind, but alas,

A necessary force that propelled me to escape

To open a wondrous door called “Japan”

I befriended superheroes and other-worldly creatures named “Pikachu”

And devoured ramen under the protection and grace of cherry blossom trees

I learned about cosplay fashion and the freedom to express one’s inner bravery

And the Tsukiji Fish Market where auction bidders battle for bluefin tuna before the sun wakes up

Though I’ve yet to visit this country

I’ve seen it through the rose-colored shades called “Anime”

The age that which I was, I do not remember

But the love for this whimsical culture will stay with me forever

--

--

Tally
The Brain is a Noodle

Actress, writer, photographer, gamer. IG: snappytally