The Masai Mara

Sai Kiran Ramarapu
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readOct 19, 2021
Photo by Ahmed Galal on Unsplash

When I close my eyes
I can see it.

I can see the sky
above me filled in red
as if the sun’s peaking from the horizon,
and its rays piercing through the clouds.

I can see the animals
which are as tall as trees,
and as fast as cars,
which are as strong,
and as fierce as mountains
which are as cute as babies
roam across these plains.

I can see the eighth wonder
— the greatest migration
to ever take place on planet earth
happen across the Mara river.

I can see the people
— the Masai Warriors
the guardians of the land,
who open their arms,
and welcome us into their world.

When I close my eyes
I can see it.
It feels like I’m in Kenya
back in the Masai Mara.

Author’s Note: One of my friends very recently introduced me to a YouTube channel named “Yes Theory.” I hope most of you guys know about them; in case you don’t, you should definitely check them out. They are a group of friends who make videos by challenging themselves by stepping out of their comfort zone. Their motto is “Seek Discomfort.” I was addicted to the channel from the very first video I watched, and later I binge-watched each and every video of theirs. Their videos inspired me to do things that are out of my comfort zone, like meeting and talking to new people, trying different cuisines, going out and seeking new places, etc. Some other crazy things I would love to do in future is piercing my ears, getting a tattoo, coloring my hair, asking out my crush, go skydiving and scuba-diving, be an iron man etc.

What I want to do more often is to travel, experience new places, new cultures, and new people. Though I would like to travel the world and visit each and every country, the place that I want to visit the most in Africa is Kenya, especially the plains of the Serengeti, the Masai Mara, the Amboseli, etc. I don’t know if I will ever make it, but I am confident I will try my hardest to accomplish all the things that I mentioned above.

--

--

Sai Kiran Ramarapu
The Brain is a Noodle

I am a 26 year old student, researcher from India. I study turbulence for a living. I am a birder and an avid reader. I write short stories and poems