Flash Fiction (nonmonetized)

The Sting

A microfiction for “On the Premises” Mini-contest #58

Dr. Casey Lawrence
The Brain is a Noodle
2 min readNov 18, 2023

--

Photo by Auguste A on Unsplash

The following story was entered for the On the Premises mini-contest for November 2023, which had the theme, “Eat It.”

Prompt: “Write a story between 25 and 50 words long in which food plays an important role.”

It looked like any other fruit of the garden, ripe and enticing. She sunk her teeth into its tender flesh with delight.

“You have eaten one of God’s creatures,” the serpent hissed.

Eve’s eyes widened in horror as she realized the truth. The fig of knowledge concealed a wasp.

Most of the fun with a contest like this is condensing a story into so few words. Although I didn’t win this contest, I enjoyed sinking my teeth into the micro-flash genre. You can check out the contest winners here, if you’re interested.

Enjoying my content? Check out my YA novel, Out of Order, available in eBook and paperback from JMS Books and Amazon. Not looking to buy a book right now? Consider showing your support by buying me a coffee, and make sure to subscribe to my stories on Medium!

Praise for Out of Order by Casey Lawrence. Image created using Canva

--

--

Dr. Casey Lawrence
The Brain is a Noodle

Canadian author of three LGBT YA novels. PhD from Trinity College Dublin. Check out my lists for stories by genre/type.