This Is a Sign It’s Time to Let Go of That Toxic Friend

October interview questions with The Brain is a Noodle

Nia Simone McLeod
The Brain is a Noodle

--

A little girl in a devil costume holds up a lollipop
Photo by Charles Parker from Pexels

These questions were created by Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) for the writers of the Medium publication The Brain is a Noodle.

[1] Does writing energize or exhaust you?

It’s definitely both. Freewriting, letting the words flow in an inhibited manner from my mind to my fingers to the page, is energizing. Editing, on the other hand, can be exhausting.

When I edit, I feel the pressures of following the writing “rules”, going with what the general public thinks “good” writing is, and following how I’ve been taught to write in school.

I know those rules of “good” writing are mostly BS, because writing is an art and art is subjective, but the elitist pressures of being a “good” writer get to me sometimes. I’m working on it.

[2] What is one food that represents the country you are currently in?

I’m not the biggest fan of foods that represent American culture. But, one food that’s always had my heart is french fries, specifically McDonald’s french fries. I have no idea what’s in them. But, every time I have them they taste incredible.

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
The Brain is a Noodle

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome