HOW IT USED TO BE

Those Automated Machines

a poem of nostalgia

Katy Lin
The Brain is a Noodle

--

Photo by Bill Alexy on Unsplash

I used to greet the bank teller who had alluring eyes

She’d reply from behind the counter with a cordial “Hi.”

Now, I stare before me an automated machine

Stuck are my small, frozen fingers touching the blank screen.

Oh, how I miss hearing you say,

“Miss, may you have a pleasant day!”

Photo by sq lim on Unsplash

It used to be slow to pack and save

But now self-checkouts are all the rave.

With an item in one hand and a scanner in the other

Comes along a beep-beep tallying the whole lot together.

Oh, how sorely I miss those days hearing you say,

“There’s a dollar coupon, so you don’t have to pay.”

Images by Katy

I am usually bewildered by the wait in line

Wanting to pick that favorite ice cream flavor of mine.

A spoonful of sampling of What’s this?

Plus a few licks of assorted bliss.

Oh, how I miss those days hearing you say,

“Would you care for some sweet toppings today?”

I noticed that I had to use all of these automated machines in a day’s outing! What do you think? Are we inconveniently make everything convenient? Will social interaction become rather nostalgic in the future?

Thank you for your support. 💛

--

--

Katy Lin
The Brain is a Noodle

Inspiring all the goodness in life. 💌 Practicing the art of observation.